Franchises for Rugby Super Series Confirmed

The Buffaloes, a new rugby team, will be based in Kakamega and will be comprised of players from Kabras Sugar, Kisumu, Catholic Monks, Masinde Muliro, and Western Bulls. The Cheetahs, based in Nakuru, will consist of players from Menengai Oilers, Nakuru, Homeboyz, Impala, Kabarak University, and University of Eldoret. The Lions franchise will include players from KCB, Kenyatta University Blak Blad, Mwamba, JKUAT Cougars, South Coast Pirates, and USIU Maritals.

The tournament is scheduled to take place on four Saturdays in May 2024, with matches alternating between Nairobi, Nakuru, and Kakamega. It will showcase four men’s and two women’s teams, representing Kenya Cup Clubs. The women’s teams will be part of the National Lionesses’ squad, competing as Eagles & Jaguars.

Women’s matches will be held in Kakamega and Nairobi, with winners determined by aggregate scores over two games. Each team has its own history and colors. The Buffaloes, based in Kakamega, won the RSS in 2005 and will wear blue and white.

The Cheetahs, based in Nakuru, won the RSS in 2004 and 2006, and will wear red and white. The Lions, based in Nairobi, won RSS in 2008 and will wear green and black. The Rhinos, the most successful franchise in RSS history with six titles, are based in Nairobi and will wear yellow and black.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *